### KIRKCUDBRIGHT DEVELOPMENT TRUST AGM

Minutes of the Meeting of Kirkcudbright Development Trust AGM 1<sup>st</sup> November 2021 @ 6pm, held in The Community Room, The Johnston.

#### **Trustees Present:**

Lesley Garbutt (Chair)
Colin Maclaine (Vice Chair)
John Johnson (Treasurer)
Neil Picken
Rob Asbridge
Alex Kinnell
Andy Campbell
Helen Henderson
Francis Kearney
John Blaikie
Ruth McMorran
Debbie Craig - Kirkcudbright Development Trust

# **Trustees Apologies:**

There were none.

## **Apologies:**

Nicola Hill
Sandra Walsh
Jo & Bill Westwood
Alex Kinnell
Lady Hope Dunbar
Ian and Kathleen Maxwell.
Marthie Clark
Henry Tenant

#### In attendance:

Eilean Parker - Kirkcudbright Youth Project Allan Ross Gordon Cowan John McQuistan Chris Leamy Cllr Jane Maitland Derek Smith Michael Lawton
Pat Parker
James Robertson

The minutes from the 2020 AGM along with Chair and Trustee reports had been previously sent out read out by Lesley Garbutt and approved by Neil Picken and seconded by Allan Ross.

Lesley Garbutt welcomed everyone to the 2021 AGM. It had been, despite lockdown restrictions, a successful year for the Trust, with The Johnston Nursery in full use, while the businesses - The Wee Pottery and Dark Arts Gin Distillery - up and running and proving incredibly popular. The Community Room was being well used by a variety of groups and the hot desking room was also in good use. With more than 10 people employed within the various projects and businesses within the building, The Johnston was already acting as a source of regeneration for the community and it was thanks to the community and funders that the project was so successful and for that the Trust is grateful.

Kirkcudbright Information Centre, Barrhill Woods and SIlvercraigs and the Youth Project were all doing well and going from strength to strength. And the Dark Space Planetarium, which had opened at the end of July, was a space to behold and proving a WOW with locals and visitors alike.

Six Trustees had resigned down from the board - Colin Wyper, Allan Ross, Alex Kinnell, Gordon Cowan, Colin Maclaine and John Johnston - and at this point Mrs Garbutt thanked each and every one of the Trustees for the hard work and commitment they had shown the Trust over the years. She thanked KDT staff, Trustees and community for all their support and work throughout the year. And while the Trust and its projects were doing incredibly and going from strength to strength, it could not have been done, she continued, without the vision of Andrew Ward, who had sadly passed away in September. He was a friend to many of us and will be hugely missed. As a tribute to him, The Johnston will be lit up purple on Thursday 18<sup>th</sup> November for world pancreatic cancer day.

Treasurers Report - John Johnson explained that the Trust had been audited this year and after a lengthy process the accounts were ready to be submitted to OSCR. He thanked Colin MacLaine and Alex Kinnell for all their hard work in dealing with the overspend of The Johnston.

Gordon Cowan noted that it would be better if the accounts were dated as close to the AGM as possible, given that this set was for end of 2020. John Johnson agreed and explained that the auditors were very late this year and

the final report was not completed until recently.

The accounts had been circulated ahead of the meeting and were proposed by Colin MacLaine and seconded by Allan Ross.

Proposal of auditor - it was agreed unanimously that Farries, Kirk, McVean be kept as auditor.

Change to the constitution to include virtual meetings: this was read out and agreed unanimously. Eilean Parker suggested that Teams might be an option for larger meetings and it was agreed that this be look into.

There being no other business, Lesley Garbutt asked Councillor Jane Maitland to take the chair for the election of members of the board.

Councillor Maitland thanked Lesley Garbutt and Kirkcudbright Development Trust for all their hard work in the community.

Position of Chair: Neil Picken proposed Lesley Garbutt and this was seconded by Ruth McMorran.

Position of Treasurer: Lesley Garbutt proposed Helen Henderson and this was seconded by Ruth McMorran.

Lesley Garbutt then took the Chair and thanked Councillor Maitland.

Finally, Lesley Garbutt welcomed the new Trustees: Francis Kearney, John Blaikie and Naomi Johnson.

Eilean Parker thanked Colin MacLaine and John Johnson for their work with the Youth Project.

Lesley Garbutt concluded the AGM by thanking everyone for their attendance, their hard work and wished everyone continued success for the forthcoming year.

The meeting ended at 6.25pm.